Standlee Barn Bulletin

The Standlee Barn Bulletin is your source for insightful articles about premium western forage and beyond.

History of the Triple Crown

History of the Triple Crown

We all sit on the edge of our seats waiting for the end of the Triple Crown 2019 racing season and what a bittersweet year it’s been for all. This historic and at times controversial race known as “Triple Crown” is composed of three separate events: Kentucky Derby, The Preakness Stakes and The Belmont Stakes all taking place annually between the months of May and June. It is one of the most highly coveted titles in American horse racing championships – Since 1875, only 13 horse have ever accomplished this elusive achievement and title in winning all three races.

2019 Triple Crown

  • Kentucky Derby May 9th, Winner: Country House
  • Preakness Stakes May 21st, Winner: War of Will
  • Belmont Stakes June 11th, Winner: TBD

Each Triple Crown race is open to both colts and fillies. Although fillies have won each of the individual Triple Crown races, none has won the Triple Crown itself. Despite attempts to develop a "Filly Triple Crown" or a "Triple Tiara" for fillies only, no set series of three races has consistently remained in the public eye, and at least four different configurations of races have been used.

It takes a special horse and jockey to win the Triple Crown as there have only been 13 winners of all three races in the last 144 years, the first winner being in 1919 and the most recent in 2018. These horses, jockeys and trainers put their heart and soul into these races which takes a multitude training and discipline to be able to hold this title.

Standlee Premium Western Forage® recognizes the need for proper nutrition for these athletic horses to have the strength and endurance to run these races. After all - Premium Performance Demands Premium Forage and horses who eat Standlee Premium Western Forage® are Fed To WIN!

There’s no doubt We LOVE HORSES and the Triple Crown, but don’t just take it from us. Here is what some of our Standlee® consumers had to say about it:

“A Thoroughbred must win all three races. Therefore, it must be in top athletic shape imaginable and sometimes we celebrate this phenomenon as we have in the past with horses such as Seabiscuit, Secretariat and others in history. Our memories of them live on. Horses are Hero’s ... and the stories are never forgotten.”
-Rebecca M

“These races are an American tradition with the great historical significance of only 13 horses ever to be awarded the honor of holding the title of Triple Crown winner. The excitement, thrill, and emotions involved with these races makes our heart skip a beat year after year!”
-Brook B


Standlee Feed Calculator